NOTICE

APPLICATIONS FOR OPEN AWARDS 2024

All students those are presently in 2017/2018 batch are here by informed that following open awards are to be presented at the convocation 2024.

- 1. Student of the year award
- 2. Canekaratne Prize for General Merit
- 3. D.P.P. Samarasekara Peace prize
- 4. Prof. Tilak Hettiarachchi Award for Academic excellence

Please refer the attached document for criteria for awards.

Students those who are interested and are to be graduated in the year 2025 (Convocation 2024) are requested to submit their applications with a CV to the Department heads of the respective section indicating all the qualifications with the copies of relevant certificates as per the above criteria <u>on or before 21st of July</u> 2025.

Deputy Registrar

16.07.2025

Deputy Registrar Faculty of Indigenous Medicine University of Colombo Rajagiriya

<u>Canekeratne Prize General Merit – 2024</u>

Name / Registration No/Contact Number /E-mail Address	Qualifications	Scholarship / Prizes	Sports	Aesthetic /Cultural	Leadership	Activities	
					×		

D.P.P Samarasekera Peace Prize – 2024

Qualifications	Sports	Aesthetic /Cultural	Leadership	University / Community Service	Remarks		
	Qualifications	Qualifications Sports	-				

Name / Registration No /Contact Number / E- mail Address	Qualifications	Scholarship / Prizes	Sports	Aesthetic /Cultural	Leadership	Activities

Prof. Tilak Hettiarachchy Award for Academic Excellence - 2024

Student of the Year- 2024

				T		
Name / Registration No /Contact Number /E-mail Address	Qualifications	Scholarship / Prizes	Sports	Aesthetic /Cultural	Leadership	Activities
					×	
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				
					,	
1. · · · ·						

D.P.P. Samarasekera Peace Prize

The D.P.P. Samarasekera Peace Prize was established in 1984 by Mr. D.P.P. Samarasekera, a former Registrar, University of Colombo and presently Academic Registrar, University of Papua New Guinea in memory of his parents. The endowment is Rs. 10,000/=. The income from it is to be used to award a prize annually to the student who shows a marked interest either within the University community or outside it in activities which foster social harmony and/or shows courtesy, consideration, kindness and understanding in assisting those in distress. In selecting the recipient of the award, no consideration should be paid to the religious or political beliefs, sex or ethnic origin of the student. Nominations would be accepted from the Deans of Faculties, the Senior Student Counsellor, the University Proctor and the Student body in office at the time. The final selection shall be made by the Vice-Chancellor.

Canekeratne Prize for General Merit

Mr. Nihal Canekeratne of No. 103/10, Dharmapala Mawatha, Colombo 07, who has been a member of the Council of University of Colombo, invested a sum of Rs. 100,000/= in the name of the University of Colombo with the Alliance Finance Co. Ltd., No. 84, Ward Place, Colombo 07 in 1995 to award the above prize.

The prize is to be awarded to a student who graduate with a First or Second Class (Upper Division) Pass in the Special Degree Examination and has considerable achievements in extra curricular activities.

The selection will be made by a Committee consisting of the Vice-Chancellor, Deans of the Faculties and the Senior Student Counsellor.

Student of the Year Award

The Student of the Year Award was established in 1986 by Professor Stanley Wijesundera, the first Vice-Chancellor of the University of Colombo, Sri

483

Lanka, with an initial endowment made towards the fund which will be kept open in order to invite further contributions. The interest from its investment will be used for the award of a medal and a cash prize for the student who is adjudged the 'Student of the Year' by a panel consisting of:

The Vice-Chancellor

a balance and the second a subsection of the second s

The Deans of the Faculties

The Senior Student Counsellor

The Chairman, Arts Council and

The Chairman, Sports Council

In making the selection, consideration will be given among other criteria to the student's excellence in academic' studies, sportsmanship, interest in aesthetic and cultural activities proven leadership among his peers, exemplary conduct and character.

If a suitable candidate is selected by the panel, the first "Student of the Year Award" will be made at the 1986 convocation. The winner of subsequent awards will be announced at the end of each academic year, and the award made at the Convocation at which the recipient receives his degree.

Senate Memo: 299.

Prof. Tilak Hettiarachchy Award for Academic Excellence- Open Award

Mr. V.S. Sivalingam, Deputy Registrar, Examinations has expressed his desire to establish an endowed prize by accumulating the monthly allowance paid to him for handling certain additional task amounting to approximately Rs. 60,000/= in appreciation & recognition of the excellent services rendered by Prof. Tilak Hettiarachchy as the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Colombo for two terms. The capital will be invested on 01^{st} February, 2008, the date on which Mr. Siyalingam will be retiring from the University Service.

The Conditions of Award

1

.2.

4.

5.

The endowment shall be named as "Prof. Tilak Hettiarachchy Award for Academic Excellence" in the understanduate programmes.

The Award shall be presented to an undergraduate who secured a First Class in the Special or General Degree Programme of any Faculty in the University of Colombo

Consideration shall be given to publications & research carried out during his/her undergraduate career; Prizes & Medals won; Scholarships/Studentships obtained at the Year I examination; any other endowed Scholarships/Bursaries including Commonwealth Elective Bursary obtained for academic performances during the undergraduate career; etc.

The Award shall be presented at the Convocation annually.

The value of the Award shall be 75% of the interest derived from the investment. The balance 25% of the interest shall be added to the capital & re-invested.

6. If no student qualifies for this Award during a particular year, the unutilized money shall be added to the capital and re-invested.

7. The name of the recipient of the Award shall be communicated to the donor.

8. Applications shall be invited by the Assistant Registrar/Senior Assistant Registrar of the Faculties which conduct undergraduate programmes at the time the final results are released and the Selection shall be made by the Committee of Deans chaired by the Vice-Chancellor.

The donor requests that the first award be presented at the year 2009 General Convocation.

Mrs. W.H.R. Hussain Registrar

07th May, 2007.